Skip to content

Clip Show: July already?

15.July 2011

Here at Darby O’Shea HQ, it’s been a quiet Summer so far.  Between twiddling my thumbs and doing some freelance work and angsting about upcoming work, I’ve been plugging away at the rooftop garden, cooking a little, reading a lot, and probably watching more HGTV than is healthy for someone approximately a jillion years away from being able to actually own a home of any kind.  It’s been a season of extremes – extreme temperatures overlapping extreme bouts of malaise, redolent with navel-gazery (Am I really revolted or am I actually envious? Is this depression or just laziness? Am I lazy or just incapable?), and all of that contrasted against the bright sun of seventy degree days, driving to the beach, frolicking with two sweet pups, being quietly creative, and getting back in touch with friends.

Summer is always a moody time for yours truly and this one has been no exception.  But what has been going on, you ask? Let’s see.

Dan’s story “Standing by the Wall” was published in the Dudley Review.  They got his name wrong (idiots.), but we’re proud anyway.

I set a bunch of type last night.  More on that next week.

Fig. 1. I took photos of my dear friend Danny for his upcoming publication. I do enjoy doing portraits of my beautiful friends.

Fig. 2. My sister Jamie and I ran away to the beach for the morning. The waves were high, the sky was impossibly blue, and the clouds were impossibly cottony.

Fig. 3. There were fireworks. Boston does know how to celebrate July 4th. And watching from our rooftop is so much better than dealing with the crowds of revelers.

Fig. 4. I went to visit the Glass Flowers again. Seriously, if you haven’t seen them, they’re worth a trip.

Fig. 5. My tomatoes have bloomed, finally!

And now I’ll leave you with a recipe.

If you follow me on Twitter, you’ll know that my love of the Clover Food Truck is well documented.  This summer they (and their brick-and-mortar location in Harvard Square) have been selling what they call Rhubarb Agua Fresca.  It’s delicious.  And I’m too poor to run over there and get one every time I’m thirsty, so I cooked up my own.

Rhubarb Syrup

  • 4ish stalks of rhubarb, cut into 1/2″ pieces
  • 1/3ish cup of sugar
  • 1 cup of water
  1. Bring all of the ingredients to a boil.  Stir until sugar is dissolved, then reduce heat to a simmer.
  2. Simmer until the rhubarb falls apart, then let cool.
  3. Strain the syrup through a sieve, then refrigerate until needed.
  4. Rhubarb Syrup can be mixed with a) still water, for Rhubarb agua fresca (dilute to taste with enough water to make it pale pink and mild in flavor – I like mine with a squeeze of lime.) b) sparkling water, for Rhubarb soda, c) your liquor of choice for a delicious cocktail.
No comments yet

Leave a comment