Skip to content

Trailing spouses

27.June 2008

This post on Jezebel and the article on CNN that it refers to are really interesting. The idea of trailing spouses is one I’ve been thinking about a lot lately. I’m on a career path at the moment that is likely going to force me to move around for a while at least (at least until I get tenure or give up). I worry about my young man finding a job that is equally satisfying and demanding and that might not be very flexible, location-wise. I worry about us having difficulty deciding who will “trail” (though I think that term is really irritating) and who will lead (or whatever).

The other problem with this analysis of the problem is the vaguely sexist idea that it’s the woman’s own fault for choosing a more flexible career. Like it’s her own damned fault? That’s a little difficult for me to swallow.

Anyway, this is one of the many things I worry about heading into marriage. It’s funny to be thinking about all these issues concretely (since the Hitching is just around the corner) instead of just theoretically. Very very very strange.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

