Skip to content

December, Day 6: Snow snow snow snow SNOW!

6.December 2010

I might be jumping the gun a little bit, since I saw all five teeny tiny flakes today on my walk to work, but it’s snowing today in Boston!

Also, since my birthday is officially past, and it’s St. Nikolaus Day (did you get coal or goodies in your shoes this morning?) I feel like it’s time to get serious about winter and the holiday season.  I’ve always felt like my birthday was the real border between Fall and Winter – as a kid I was always irritated by Christmas stuff happening around my birthday, like it stole my thunder a little bit.  When I was in children’s choir and, later, in grown-up choir, we ALWAYS had big Christmas Pops performances the weekend nearest my birthday, which wasn’t all bad, because I was singing, which I loved, and because I got to celebrate backstage. I remember one year I had a raging crush on our very attractive choir director and he sang Happy Birthday to me backstage and I was pretty sure it meant he was in love with me too.  But I’ve always had a very active imagination.

That very active imagination may be why I’m convinced it was snowing this morning as I walked to work.  But all the same, my birthday is over and now we can get down to wintry, Christmassy business.  Now, listen up, Boston.  I’m not talking a blizzard.  I’d like two civilized inches – enough to be pretty without making me want to just stay inside.  Let’s not overreact, shall we?

Anyway, here are some pictures of snowflakes! Enjoy!

Kenneth Libbrecht of CalTech takes these amazing photos of snowflakes.  You should go and look at the galleries on his webpage: www.snowcrystals.com.

He recently won the Lennart Nilsson Award for his work on snowflakes, which is great for him, but is frankly less exciting to me than these photos themselves!

And in case you don’t know the tune that you should hum while reading the title of this post, click here.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 9.December 2010 20:39

    You will love Mike & Doug Starn’s “Sno” series:
    http://www.starnstudio.com/sno.html
    xo

    • Darby O'Shea permalink*
      10.December 2010 10:59

      Wow. You’re right. That’s beautiful!

Leave a Reply

