Skip to content

December, Day 12: Lebkuchengewürz giveaway!

12.December 2010

Well, here’s another post that’s going up much later in the day than I’d hoped.  But!  I still haven’t missed a day yet!  How you guys doing?  Your December going well?  Chanukkah is over already (that was fast!), my semester is just about rounded up (just have to report those pesky grades), last Thursday we went to the Beacon Hill Holiday Stroll and today it was the Harvard Carols Service, and it’s just a week and change until I wing my way back to the homeland for a visit, some chowing down on delicious goodies, and open a few presents.  What’re you up to?

I’m also baking in preparation for the Big Ridiculous Party.  You know it’ll be fun.  I’ve already got a few things down:

  • Heidesand – dough frozen, just needs baking off.  Tomorrow, maybe?
  • Vanillekipferl – ditto
  • Toffee with crushed candy canes, plain, and ginger – done

I’m midway through baking a bunch of my Esteemed German Colleague’s Godmother’s Braune Kuchen – wait until you hear about THAT project.  Whoa.

But, the good news is that in order to make those cookies, I had to make my own Lebkuchengewürz – also known as gingerbread spice or The Holy Grail of Holiday Baking.  Seriously dudes.  This is some serious spice mix.

I used this recipe (roughly – I’m pretty sure my kitchen scale is busted for some reason).  I’ll translate below, for your edification.

But just in case you’re too lazy to throw some spices together, do you want some of mine?  I’ll send you a package with 10 grams of the good stuff for you to make your own Braune Kuchen or gingerbread or what have you.  Just tell me what spice you like to bake with (or what spices you like to eat when someone else has done the baking!).  I’ll give you til Tuesday at 5 PM.  And you can enter again by Tweeting or posting a link to this on your Facebook.  Just leave an additional comment telling me you’ve done so!

Lebkuchengewürz – Gingerbread Spice Mix

  • 35 g ground cinnamon
  • 9 g ground cloves
  • 9 g ground allspice
  • 1 g grated nutmeg
  • 2 g ground coriander
  • 2 g ground cardamom
  • 2 g ground ginger
  1. Measure and Mix.
3 Comments leave one →
  1. Jess permalink
    15.December 2010 17:31

    A couple questions from a nosy baker who is also obsessed with these flavors – Do you grind your spices yourself? And do you buy from Christina’s or a regular market or somewhere else?

    • Darby O'Shea permalink*
      15.December 2010 17:38

      Hm. Weighty questions. I buy many things from Christina’s and love them for their prices and convenience. BUT, most of my spices are from Penzey’s – the result of my mom buying me a TON of them last year. I don’t grind myself because I’m too lazy and don’t have a good grinder for spices. You want a taste of this spice mix? It’s pretty sensational and nobody else wanted it. :(

Trackbacks

  1. I give up « Darby O'Shea

Leave a Reply

