Skip to content

Clip show: Keeping it light

4.May 2011

I really want to write here, but can’t muster the energy.  I’m trudging through a Big, Bad Sad right now and that’s making everything hard.  So, this is just to let you know we’re still around here at Darby O’Shea HQ.

For now, we’re keeping it light.  That’s the way to get through, right?

I was tooling around on Twitter today and came across a link from the Amateur Gourmet that reminded me of one of my favorite songs.  A little bit weird, a little bit spooky, a little bit surreal, it’s Kate Bush’s “Wuthering Heights.”  Wuthering Heights has always been a favorite novel (see my Proust questionnaire – I was always gaga for Heathcliff, despite the fact that he’s clearly a psychopath) and the song’s creepy kookiness expresses a lot of the things that I like about the novel.

ANYWAY.  This sent me on a Youtube odyssey.  Here are a couple fabulous versions of this great, great song for you to check out.

  • Kate Bush’s original version Also known as the “Red Dress version.”  Check the yoga-esque moves and wacky, sexy interpretive dance.
  • The classic group for covers: The Ukulele Orchestra.  Plinky and cheerful.
  • The Puppini Sisters: Modern-day Andrews Sisters.  Fabulous and fifties-ish.
  • And, finally, the link that started it all.  This a capella choir is called the Sweptaways.  They epitomize the idea of Scandinavian WEIRD.  To this video, they bring 80s jazzercize chic, bizarre choreography, and latent  crucifixion imagery.  Bizarro.  If you only watch one of these videos, watch this one.

What’s new with you all?  Leave me some love in the comments –  I could use it these days.

Hey!  By the way, I’ve got a piece up over at Dr. Hurley’s Snake-Oil Cure.  Go check it out.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. 4.May 2011 20:59

    I love you Em! I can’t wait to come home so I can hang out with you. I’ll be around on the 15-17. Want to hang out then?
    Also, it sounds like we’ve both been feeling love for Kate Bush recently. “This Woman’s Work” is an excellent song when you’re feeling sad. Ach, she’s lovely in such a uniquely eccentric way.
    *HUGS*

    • Darby O'Shea permalink*
      5.May 2011 12:18

      Love you too, Liz! Yes. Let’s hang out ASAP when you’re in town. Maybe we can marinate in the sun on my roof again (surely it’ll be warm and sunny then, yes?). And, oddly enough, I think Wuthering Heights is the ONLY song by Kate Bush that I actually know! I’ll check out “This Woman’s Work” ASAP. Sounds like an anthem I could get behind. Hugs to you too. Can’t wait to see you.

  2. 4.May 2011 21:40

    Thinking of you, Ms. O’ Shea. Hope you’re taking care of yourself through all of this. xoxo

    • Darby O'Shea permalink*
      5.May 2011 12:16

      Thanks, Jess! Can’t wait to catch up with you soon soon soon. xo

  3. wjh permalink
    5.May 2011 14:59

    LOVE

    • Darby O'Shea permalink*
      9.May 2011 12:17

      Thanks, Wiebke. Tell me, why aren’t you visiting yet?

Leave a Reply

