Skip to content

Simple Pleasures

6.June 2012

It’s funny how after something BIG ends it takes a while to adjust to it being over. In my case I’m still feeling the aftershocks of seven years worth of grad school stress – I keep having these panicky thoughts about not actually having gotten my degree and being currently without library access. And of course I don’t have any major deadlines that require me to spend hours in the library and I did get my degree, so I shouldn’t worry, but it’s become a habit.

I’ll tell you more about graduation soon, but for now here’s a happy little moment from the last few days.

You may have heard me rhapsodize about Sofra in the past, but I don’t think I’ve mentioned one of my favorite items on their menu. They serve an amazing yogurt parfait for breakfast – featuring labne instead of yogurt, layered together with wheat berries and spoon sweets. It’s rich, heavy, and beautifully balanced. The sweetness of the spoon sweets is in perfect harmony with the tang of the labne.

Here at home I’ve more frequently settled for a bowl of regular yogurt, maybe topped with some fresh fruit, maybe with some of my mom’s homemade granola. But this week I ran into some rhubarb that begged to be made into something delicious and, during the same grocery trip, stumbled across wheat berries for the first time ever. So, I came home and got busy. What resulted was my version of the Sofra yogurt parfait. Vanilla Greek yogurt with wheat berries and rhubarb compote.

I know, it’s not intricate baking or kitchen alchemy, but simple is what’s called for right now. And this is dead simple.

Rhubarb Compote

  • about 4 c of rhubarb rough cut into about 1 inch chunks
  • 1 1/2 c sugar
  • 1 T vanilla extract
  • 1 T balsamic vinegar
  1. Stir together all ingredients and heat over medium heat until sugar is dissolved.
  2. Lower heat to medium low, cover, and simmer until rhubarb is very soft. (This is a matter of taste, but I prefer rhubarb when it’s cooked very, very thoroughly. Feel free to stop cooking while the rhubarb still has some structural integrity. Unlike me.)
**Also, check out the new VISUAL recipe index over on Pinterest!**
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

